top of page

Next Concert - Jan 13th, 2024 at St Saviour's Church in Brockenhurst

We hope to see you at our Autumn Term concert in January. We have a lovely program planned:


Commissioned by the BBC and first performed in 1935, this work was among Britten's first compositions to be published.



Composed in 2016, Coleridge's Requiem is a deeply moving work for choir and cello, with organ or strings. Its beautiful, flowing melodies are often monastic in flavour, but woven together to create rich and dazzling tapestries of harmony. Above the choral voices soars a lyrical part for solo cello.


Saint Nicolas, Op. 42, is a cantata with music by Benjamin Britten on a text by Eric Crozier, completed in 1948. It covers the legendary life of Saint Nicholas, Bishop of Myra, Lycia, in a dramatic sequence of events. The premiere was the opening concert of the first Aldeburgh Festival in June 1948, with Peter Pears as the soloist.

Brockenhurst Choir started rehearsals on St Nicolas at the beginning of 2020 and you all know what happened then ! We are very pleased to have the chance to finish what we started.

Tickets are £15 (£5 for students) and are available:

  • online - see link at the top of the page

  • from Streets and Pot Pourri in Brockenhurst 

  • at the door 

bottom of page